Welcome to the VLINC Wikivlinc_graphic.gif

VLINC is a BLaST Intermediate Unit #17 and NorthEast Intermediate Unit #19 collaboration to assist member school districts in the management of online curriculum.

IU 17 VLINC Project Director: Cori Cotner
IU 17 VLINC Coordinator: Lydia Comerford
IU 17 VLINC Point of Contact: Jerry Christy

PROJECT GOALS

Provide high quality, online learning programs for the 2008 - 2009 school year through a centralized content and student management portal for participating constituent school districts.

Interested parents and families should contact their school district Point of Contact person listed in the table below. VLINC Parent Brochure.pdf

IU 17 VLINC MEMBER DISTRICTS & POINTS OF CONTACT

District
Point of Contact
PoC e-mail
Athens Area School District
Jane Montague
jbaney@mail.athensasd.k12.pa.us
Canton Area School District
Jessica Friedlander
jfriedlander@canton.k12.pa.us
East Lycoming School District
Jamie Bower
jbower@elsd.org
Jersey Shore Area School District
Dr. Dorothy Chappel
dchappel@jsasd.k12.pa.us
Loyalsock Township School District
Sherry Griggs
sgriggs@ltsd.k12.pa.us
Montgomery Area School District
Mike Prowant
mprowant@montasd.org
Muncy Area School District
Dr.Kim Hamilton
khamilton@muncysd.org
Sayre Area School District
Mary Cole
mcole@sayresd.org
South Williamsport School District
Dr. Mark Stamm
mstamm@mounties.k12.pa.us
Sullivan County School District
Dr. Kathryn Gruber
gruber@sulcosd.k12.pa.us
Williamsport Area School District
David Wright
dwright@wasd.org

VLINC Cyber Services Curriculum Option - Program Overview

  • VLINC is a cyber services program that enables students to remain enrolled in their home school district. This program is NOT a cyber charter school.
  • The cyber services program will allow the student to receive a diploma from the home school district.
  • The program provides full time enrollment opportunities for students who may be considering cyber charter school, dropping out of school, or alternative education placement.
  • Full time cyber services students may complete their coursework entirely online or a portion of their coursework online and a portion with the school building.
  • Students are members of the school community and are invited to participate school activities.
  • The online facilitators are highly qualified teachers in their respective content areas and are from northeastern Pennsylvania. All online facilitators have received professional development related to ePedagogy.
  • Families work through a district point of contact and are only eligible to participate with consent from the Superintendent or designee.
  • The online curriculum can provide additional opportunities for students including remediation, enrichment, course recovery, gifted education, and summer school.
  • VLINC is a collaborative partnership between member school districts and the intermediate units.


VLINC Courses

Courses offered during Year 1 of this project willbe provided through a partnership with various online curriculum vendors.
These vendors will include (but are not limited to):
Advanced Academics
Apex Learning
Aventa
BlendedSchools
Calvert Education
Florida Virtual Global School
K-12.com
Lincoln Interactive